You are here

Oxford-Weidenfeld Prize

The Oxford–Weidenfeld Prize is for book-length literary translations into English from any living European language. It aims to honour the craft of translation, and to recognise its cultural importance. It was founded by Lord Weidenfeld and is supported by New College, The Queen's College and St Anne's College, Oxford.


2019 Prize


This year’s shortlist includes eight books from an outstanding entry of over a hundred titles in translations from 22 different languages.


Once again we had impressive submissions from both larger and smaller publishing houses. The shortlist contains translations from eight languages.


The winner will be announced at the prizegiving and dinner at St Anne’s College, Oxford on Saturday 15 June 2019. This is the crowning event of Oxford Translation Day, which boasts a varied programme of talks, workshops, and readings. Details are available at:


This year’s judges of the Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize are Charlotte Ryland, Emma Claussen, James Partridge, and Simon Park (Chair).


The 2019 Shortlist:


Jón Kalman Stefánsson, About the Size of the Universe, translated from the Icelandic by Philip Roughton (MacLehose)


Gaito Gazdanov, The Beggar and Other Stories, translated from the Russian by Bryan Karetnyk (Pushkin Press)


Dalia Grinkevičiūtė, Shadows on the Tundra, translated from the Lithuanian by Delija Valiukenas (Peirene)


Christine Marendon, Heroines from Abroad, translated from the German by Ken Cockburn (Carcanet)


Mario Benedetti, Springtime in a Broken Mirror, translated from the Spanish by Nick Caistor (Penguin)


Ivo Andrić, Omer Pasha Latas, translated from the Serbo-Croatian by Celia Hawkesworth (New York Review of Books)


Gine Cornelia Pedersen, Zero, translated from the Norwegian by Rosie Hedger (Nordisk Books)


Mbarek Ould Beyrouk, The Desert and the Drum, translated from the French by Rachael McGill (Dedalus)


Recent winners


Recent winners include: Lisa Dillman for Andrés Barba’s Such Small Hands (Portobello Books); Frank Perry for Lina Wolff's Bret Easton Ellis and the Other Dogs (And Other Stories); Philip Roughton for Jón Kalman Stefánsson’s The Heart of Man (MacLehose Press); Paul Vincent and John Irons for 100 Dutch-Language Poems (Holland Park Press); Susan Bernofsky for Jenny Erpenbeck's The End of Days (Portobello); Susan Wicks for Valérie Rouzeau’s Talking Vrouz (Arc Publications); Philip Boehm for Herta Müller’s The Hunger Angel (Portobello); Judith Landry for Diego Marani’s New Finnish Grammar (Dedalus); Margaret Jull Costa for Jose Saramago’s The Elephant’s Journey (Harvill Secker); Jamie McKendrick for Valerio Magrelli’s The Embrace (Faber and Faber); Anthea Bell for Sasa Stanisic’s How the Soldier Repairs the Gramophone (Weidenfeld and Nicolson).


Enquiries may be addressed to Dr Eleni Philippou at