You are here


Oxford Comparative Criticism and Translation is a research centre based jointly in The Oxford Research Centre in the Humanities and St. Anne’s College. See ‘OCCT People‘ below for who we are. We run seminars, workshops, a postgraduate-led discussion group and an annual conference. We stage public events, such as Oxford Translation Day, and edit a book series, Transcript. We exist to nurture all kinds of research across languages at Oxford, and to generate innovation in the fields of comparative and world literature and translation studies. 

Comparative Literature is changing. Its Eurocentric heritage has been challenged by various formulations of World Literature, while new media and new forms of artistic production are bringing urgency to comparative thinking across literature, film, the visual arts and music. The resulting questions of method are both intellectually compelling and central to the future of the humanities. To confront them, our research centre brings together experts from the disciplines of English, Medieval and Modern Languages, Oriental Studies, and Classics, and draws in collaborators from Music, Visual Art, Film, Philosophy and History. We prefer the phrase ‘Comparative Criticism’ to ‘Comparative Literature’ or ‘World Literature’ because it draws attention to the role of the critic in determining the corpus to be explored and the manner of its exploration; and we flag ‘translation’ as a process fundamental to our work, and indeed to all communication.

OCCT has benefitted from the generous support of Jane and Peter Aitken, Maria Ferreras Willetts, Celia Atkin, Fiona Lindblom and Arabella van Niekerk, and the John Fell OUP Research Fund.

Click here for a short history of our research.

To follow and participate in our work this year, please sign up here to receive updates and follow our blog. 

OCCT Contact

Anyone interested is welcome to join us: please email or contact any of our people (see below).

Georgia Nasseh is responsible for the OCCT twitter account; we are also on Facebook.

OCCT People

OCCT is Chaired by Prof Matthew Reynolds and Co-ordinated by Ms Georgia Nasseh. The Organising Committee includes Prof Mohamed-Salah Omri, Prof Ben MorganProf Adriana X. Jacobs, Dr Joseph HankinsonDr Tinashe MushakavanhuDr Karolina Watroba, Prof Patrick McGuinnessDr Simon ParkDr Laura SeymourMs Erin Nickalls, Ms Ola Sidorkiewicz, and Ms Aoife Cantrill.

Our advisory group includes Prof Marilyn Booth, Prof Jas Elsner, Ms Anita Paz, Dr Andrew Klevan, Prof Martyn Harry, Prof Stephen Harrison, Prof Laura Marcus, Dr Robert Chard, Dr Kirsten E. Shepherd-Barr, Prof Terence Cave, Prof Nicola Gardini, Dr Carole Bourne-Taylor, Prof Katrin Kohl, Dr Jane Hiddleston, Prof Elleke Boehmer, Prof Sally Shuttleworth, Dr Céline Sabiron, Dr Jason Gaiger, Dr Colin Burrow, Mr Peter Ghosh, Ms Corin Sworn, Dr Nick Halmi, Dr Stefano-Maria Evangelista, Dr Hannah Sullivan, Dr Sian Grönlie, Dr Rebecca Beasley,  Prof Ritchie Robertson, Prof Michael Sheringham, Dr Wes Williams, Dr Claudia Pazos Alonso, Dr Julie Curtis, Dr Charlie Louth, Dr Richard Scholar, Dr Xon De Ros, Dr Tom Kuhn, Dr Tim Farrant, Dr Laurent Chatel, Dr Barry Murnane, Dr Philip Bullock, Dr Betiel Wasihun, Dr Henriette Korthals Altes, Dr John McKeane, Dr Laura Lonsdale, Dr Laurent Mignon, Dr Robert Chard,  Dr Domenico Ingenito, Dr Otared Haidar, Prof Julia Bray, Dr Sebastian Matzner, Dr Fiona Macintosh, Dr Gail Trimble, Dr Jennifer Rushworth, Mia Cuthbertson, Simon Leese, Megan Robb, Alessandro SImari, Dr Alexander Bubb, Alice Holt, Jennifer Juillard Maniece, Kathleen Morris, Rachel White.

Our external associates are Dr Eleni Philippou, Prof Marina Warner (Essex); Prof Clive Scott (UEA), Dr Elinor Shaffer (Cambridge/London), Prof Shane Weller (Kent), Dr Tania Demetriou (Cambridge), Prof Wen-Chin Ouyang (SOAS), Dr Xiaofan Amy Li (UCL), Dr Valentina Gosetti (University of New England, Australia), Prof Sowon Park (UCSB), Dr Dennis Duncan (UCL), Dr Kasia Szymanska (Manchester), Dr Peter Hill (Northumbria).